Tags

, ,

2021 marks the 10th year I have run a Science Camp through Machen Retreat and Conference Center.  While our purpose in planning and organizing camp is to glorify God by showing His glories in the natural world and harmonizing the Bible with Science, God always has lessons for us as well.  Mine for this year was one of total dependance and humility.

We knew camp would look a little different this year.  Covid kept some of our regular staff and campers away, but as always, God provided the staff he wanted to be there.  Imagine my surprise when it wasn’t me.  The verse that came to my mind was Romans 12:3 “For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned.”  I was director of camp and running the kitchen, but that was not important in God’s plans.

Camp started well with prayers and staff meeting.  The campers arrived and we welcomed them.  Then as I went to meet the last arrival, a cloud moved across my vision.  Not a cloud of glory, but a cloud from my retina detaching.  God gave me the urgency to not ignore this, and call my ophthalmologist right away.  They advised me to head straight to a major medical center emergency room.  And so, I left camp, only to return briefly to get my things, before undergoing surgery for a detached retina, which put a gas bubble in my eye to hold the repair in place. 

And still camp went on.  There were wonderful friendships formed.  Bible truths were taught.  Meals were served.  God was glorified.  And I was not there.

God provided servants willing to step into my jobs.  He provided me with a lovely couple to take me into their home.  And He gets all of the glory. 

The body of Christ worked to serve, and I see again how it is a gift to be a part of it.  I learned many years ago not to be too prideful to ask for help.  But this incident served as a welcome reminder of my insignificance and Christ’s glory.  I still have weeks of dependence on others, as I can’t drive, or lift, or bend, but I trust our Lord to provide all that I need, and to give me a chance to witness to His goodness and grace.  Even my attire through all of my appointments declared God’s truth, as all I had with me were Science Camp shirts.  I explained to all who would listen what was going on in the mountains of Highland County, as I was sitting in waiting rooms and doctor’s offices. 

And God used to all for His good purposes. 

Soli Deo Gloria,

Diane